An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



News | Sept. 30, 2019

USAREC announces 2019 NCOs of the year


U.S. Army Recruiting Command announced the 2019 noncommissioned officers of the year after the completion of the Annual Awards Board here Sept. 20.

Twenty-five Soldiers, representing USAREC’s six recruiting brigades, spent the last week demonstrating their knowledge and professionalism, in hopes of being named the top in their respective categories.  

The 2019 USAREC noncommissioned officers of the year are:

  • First Sergeant of the Year: 1st Sgt. Robert McBride, 3rd Recruiting Brigade, Nashville Recruiting Battalion
  • Station Commander of the Year: Sgt. 1st Class Donald Groff, 3rd Recruiting Brigade, Minneapolis Recruiting Battalion
  • Regular Army Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Staff Sgt. Jonathon Hagen, 3rd Recruiting Brigade, Milwaukee Recruiting Battalion
  • Army Reserve Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Sgt. 1st Class Jordan Ferrari, 5th Recruiting Brigade, Kansas City Recruiting Battalion

Competitors completed an Army physical fitness test and made a personal appearance before the USAREC command sergeant major and all brigade command sergeants major.

The board selection was based on the whole-Soldier concept, including personal appearance, height, weight, physical fitness, and communication skills.

The winners will attend the Annual Leaders Training Conference for the awards luncheon.



All Entries